Still in gardens, the elegant Orangery stands in gardens laid out in the first half of the nineteenth century at Fota House in County Cork, another house with a long history.
It was the former home of Earls of Barrymore, descendants of Philip de Barry who, as part of the Norman invasion of Ireland was granted lands at Fota in 1185. The family first resided at nearby Barryscourt Castle, Carrigtwohill, then moved to Fota House, originally a hunting lodge, in the 1820s when the architect, Sir Richard Morrison and his son Vetruvius Morrison created the present regency mansion with over 70 rooms.
Just like Strokestown, during the latter part of the last century, the house fell into disrepair and was restored using EU, Irish government and private funding In December 2007, the new Irish Heritage Trust took over responsibility for Fota House.
Along with the classic orangery, the gardens, also boast an arboratum. ornamental pond, formal pleasure gardens and sun temple.